Space shuttle Atlantis after final landing
Media playback is unsupported on your device
Video

Shuttle makes final touchdown to end US space programme

The space shuttle Atlantis has landed back on Earth, ending the shuttle programme's last-ever mission.

The shuttle touched down at the Kennedy Space Centre in Florida at 1056BST (0556 EDT; 0956 GMT), bringing an end to America's thirty year shuttle programme.

Nasa said the shuttle had fired the imagination of a generation.

David Shukman reports.