Children's Air Ambulance
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Air Ambulance Service: Unease over new charity service

There are currently 16 different air ambulance services covering Britain, each of which is separate and distinct.

Now one charity says it wants to start a new service - a national helicopter dedicated to transporting sick children between hospitals.

It currently operates two other regional emergency helicopter services - the Warwickshire & Northamptonshire Air Ambulance and the Derbyshire, Leicestershire & Rutland Air Ambulance.

It has also taken over the Children's Air Ambulance service.

The charity has recently rebranded itself as The Air Ambulance Service, and plans to offer a new national service using one helicopter to cover England.

Some other air ambulance services, including the Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance, say the rebrand has created confusion.

They are also concerned about how realistic its plans are, and the potential impact they will have on the services other air rescue services currently provide.

Inside Out West, East Midlands, West Midlands and South West are broadcast on Monday, 4 February on BBC One at 19:30 GMT and nationwide on the iPlayer for seven days thereafter.

  • 04 Feb 2013
  • From the section England