Irish Presidential candidate Senator David Norris
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Seven candidates in race for Ireland presidency

Nominations to become the next Irish president have closed with seven candidates in the race.

Senator David Norris and former pop star Dana received last minute backing from local councils to secure their places on the ballot.

They joined independents Sean Gallagher and Mary Davis, Labour's Michael D Higgins, Fine Gael's Gay Mitchell and Sinn Fein's Martin McGuinness.

The election will takes place on 27 October.

The role of Irish president is largely ceremonial, nevertheless election campaigns for the role are robust and, at times, combative.

Mark Simpson reports.

  • 28 Sep 2011
Go to next video: Candidates line up for Irish presidency