Malala Yousafzai
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Malala and Kailash Satyarthi win Nobel Peace Prize

The 2014 Noble Peace prize has been awarded to Malala Yousafzai and Kailash Satyarthi for their campaigns for children and young people's right to education.

In the announcement, Thorbjørn Jagland, Chairman of The Norwegian Nobel Committee 2014 said;

"The Nobel committee regards it as an important point for a Hindu and a Muslim, an Indian and a Pakistani to join in a common struggle for education and against extremism".

  • 10 Oct 2014
  • From the section Europe
Go to next video: Nobel Prize for invention of blue LED