Sixty years since Treaty of Rome signed
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Sixty years since Treaty of Rome signed

The European Union celebrates 60 years of friendship and co-operation this weekend. The 27 leaders of the EU nations have gathered in Rome.

The six founder members – Italy, France, Germany, The Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg – could not have imagined the challenges the EU would be facing in 2017.

Special correspondent Allan Little reports from Rome on the successes and failures of the past six decades.

  • 26 Mar 2017
  • From the section Europe
Go to next video: EU referendum: What is the EU?