Election 2015 England

Election 2015: Tories gain Bath seat after 23 years

Ben Howlett
Image caption Ben Howlett won the Bath seat with 17,833 votes

The Conservatives have won the constituency of Bath - a seat the Liberal Democrats have held for 23 years.

Ben Howlett won the seat with 17,833 votes - a majority of 3,833. New Lib Dem candidate Steve Bradley polled 14,000 votes.

Mr Bradley replaced the outgoing Don Foster, who held the seat since 1992.

Mr Howlett said he hoped to represent the city "in [the] best way possible in the footsteps of Don Foster".

And all four seats in Bristol are now held by female MPs for the first time.

Bristol North West Tory candidate, Charlotte Leslie, retained her seat. She received 22,767 votes - a majority of 4,944.

Bristol West was won by Labour's Thangam Debbonaire who ousted Lib Dem Stephen Williams with 22,900 votes.

Mr Williams was beaten into third place by Green candidate Darren Hall.

Labour's Kerry McCarthy was re-elected in Bristol East and the new Labour MP for Bristol South is Karin Smyth, who takes over the seat from the retiring Dawn Primarolo.

Jack Lopresti held his Filton and Bradley Stoke seat for the Conservatives, and Kingswood remains with the party's Chris Skidmore.

And Conservative Luke Hall took the Thornbury and Yate seat from Lib Dem Pensions Minister Steve Webb.

More on this story

Around the BBC