Election 2015 Northern Ireland

Election 2015: NI electorate goes to the polls to select 18 MPs

Man walking in to polling station
Image caption Polling stations opened at 07:00 BST

Northern Ireland voters are going to the polls on Thursday to select 18 MPs in the general election.

A total of 138 candidates are standing across Northern Ireland and 1.2m people are eligible to vote.

Northern Ireland's 1,370 polling stations opened at 07:00 BST and are due to close at 22:00 BST.

Counting will take place overnight in eight different centres and the first results in Northern Ireland are expected at about 01:00 BST on Friday.

At the polling station, voters will require photographic ID such as a passport, a driving licence or a Translink smartpass.

Voters should place a single "X" against the candidate of their choice.

Image caption Voters will be turned away from polling stations unless they are registered

The Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) is standing in 16 constituencies while the Ulster Unionist Party (UUP) is standing in 15.

Sinn Féin, the SDLP and the Alliance Party are standing in all 18 constituencies.

Full coverage

The Green Party is standing five candidates and UKIP is running in 10 seats.

Seven Traditional Unionist Voice (TUV) candidates have been selected.

The Conservative Party is running in 16 seats. The Workers Party is fielding candidates in five constituencies.

People Before Profit have fielded a candidate in West Belfast and CISTA is contesting four constituencies.

There are five independent candidates.

BBC News NI is providing full coverage of the results online, on television and radio.

More on this story

Around the BBC