Election 2015 Scotland

Election 2015: Who are the Scottish Lib Dem losers?

Eight former Scottish Liberal Democrats MPs lost their seats at Westminster to new SNP members. Here is the list of politicians who now find themselves out of a job:

Danny Alexander - Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

Image copyright AFP/getty images

Danny Alexander, who lives in Aviemore, began his political career at Oxford University where he studied politics, philosophy and economics.

He was first elected as MP for Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey in 2005.

Between 2008 and 2010 he acted as chief of staff to Nick Clegg and became Secretary of State for Scotland in 2010, before being promoted to Chief Secretary to the Treasury that same year.

Michael Crockart - Edinburgh West

Image copyright PA

Michael Crockart studied politics at Edinburgh University and began his working career as a police officer, before moving into IT within the banking sector.

He won the Edinburgh West seat in 2010 and became Parliamentary Private Secretary to Michael Moore that same year but resigned from the role over opposition to the rise in tuition fees.

Mr Crockart was a member of the Business, Innovation and Skills Select Committee, the Scottish Affairs Select Committee and he has co-chaired the Lib Dem's Committee for Energy and Climate Change.

Charles Kennedy - Ross, Skye and Lochaber

Image copyright Getty Images

Charles Kennedy is a former journalist and broadcaster.

He was first elected to parliament in 1983 and worked as president of the Liberal Democrats between 1990 and 1994.

In 1999 he was appointed to the Privy Council and became leader of the party that same year, a role which he held until 2006.

Mr Kennedy was elected rector of Glasgow University in 2008.

Michael Moore - Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk

Image copyright Getty Images

Michael Moore is a qualified Scottish chartered accountant and became MP for Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk in 1997.

He served as Secretary of State for Scotland in the coalition between 2010 and 2013.

In October 2014, Mr Moore was appointed to the Smith Commission, which is considering the devolution of further powers to the Scottish parliament, and he has also worked as European Business Adviser to Nick Clegg.

Alan Reid - Argyll and Bute

Alan Reid was first elected as MP for Argyll and Bute in 2001.

During his time in parliament, he has worked as Opposition Whip as well as Shadow Minister for Scotland, Northern Ireland and Trade and Industry.

Mr Reid has also served on the Broadcasting and Scottish Affairs Committees.

Sir Robert Smith - West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine

Sir Robert Smith held the West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine seat from 1997.

Among his roles during his time in government, he served as Energy spokesperson, Deputy Chief Whip and spent time shadowing the Scotland Office.

He also served on the Trade and Industry Select Committee, Scottish Affairs Select Committee and the Procedure Committee.

Jo Swinson - East Dunbartonshire

Image copyright Getty Images

Jo Swinson studied management at the London School of Economics and worked as a marketing manager, prior to entering parliament in 2005 when she was first elected as MP for East Dunbartonshire.

During her Westminster career, Ms Swinson was appointed the Minister for Employment Relations and Consumer Affairs in the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and Minister for Women and Equalities.

Ms Swinson is also former deputy leader of the Scottish Liberal Democrats.

Lord Thurso - Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

Lord (John) Thurso was educated at Eton before embarking on a career in the hospitality industry and later representing Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross as an MP, when he entered parliament in 2001.

He is the first and only hereditary peer to have been elected to the Commons having previously sat in the House of Lords, a seat he inherited from his father when he died in 1995.

Lord Thurso has served as a member of the Treasury Select Committee, Chair of the Finance and Services Committee, a member of the Audit Committee, House of Commons Commission and Shadow Secretary of State for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform.

  • Sir Menzies Campbell was a Lib Dem MP in the 2010 parliament but decided not to stand in his North East Fife seat at the 2015 election. Malcolm Bruce, who had been Lib Dem MP for Gordon, chose not to fight for re-election.

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites