Election 2015 Wales

Election 2015: New faces among Wales' 40 MPs

Three Tory gains: New MPs Dr James Davies, Byron Davies and Chris Davies
Image caption Three Tory gains: New MPs Dr James Davies, Byron Davies and Chris Davies

Eleven new MPs are representing Wales, with three seats won by the Tories and others taking up the role from Labour and Plaid Cymru colleagues.

Davies is the most common surname among the new Tory politicians with Byron, Chris and James winning seats for Gower, Brecon and Vale of Clwyd.

Stephen Kinnock, the son of former Labour leader Neil, has become an MP after Labour held on to Aberavon.

And Plaid's first female MP Liz Saville Roberts held Dwyfor Meirionnydd.

Here's a list of the new MPs by constituency:


Stephen Kinnock and wife, Danish prime minister, Helle Thorning-Schmidt, arrived at the Aberavon count in Neath under the glare of media on Thursday night as Danish journalists were among those interested in the result.

Brecon and Radnorshire

The Conservatives' Chris Davies gained the Brecon and Radnorshire seat from the Liberal Democrats.

He took 16,453 votes against Roger Williams from the Liberal Democrats who received 11,351.

Cardiff Central

Jo Stevens gained Cardiff Central for Labour from the Liberal Democrats' Jenny Willott.

Cardiff North

The Tories held Cardiff North but the party has a new MP in Craig Williams as Jonathan Evans stepped down.

Dwyfor Meirionnydd

Liz Saville Roberts has become Plaid Cymru's first female MP to take over from Elfyn Llwyd at Dwyfor Meirionnydd. Prime Minister David Cameron paid tribute to the party's outgoing parliamentary leader in March.


The Conservatives have won the constituency of Gower - a seat Labour has held for more than 100 years.

Following two recounts, AM Byron Davies gained the seat with 15,862 votes - a majority of just 27.

Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney

Labour held the ward with Gerald Jones who has taken over from Dai Havard who was elected in 2001.

Announcing his plan to retire last September, he said given the debate over further devolution and any constitutional change, it would be "best" for a new representative to become directly involved from the start.


Christina Rees takes over the Labour held seat of Neath from stalwart Peter Hain.

During his lengthy career, Mr Hain served in the cabinet under the former prime ministers Tony Blair and Gordon Brown, with stints as Northern Ireland Secretary, Welsh Secretary, Work and Pensions Secretary and Leader of the House of Commons.

Swansea East

Labour held on to Swansea East with Carolyn Harris who takes over from Sian James - first elected in 2005 - who wanted to "pursue other opportunities and other campaign interests".


Nick Thomas-Symonds takes over at Labour-held Torfaen from Paul Murphy after 28 years in parliament.

Vale of Clwyd

With just 237 votes in it, the Conservatives' Dr James Davies took the Vale of Clwyd constituency from Labour's Chris Ruane, who had represented it for 18 years.

More on this story