Election 2016

Election 2016: Polling stations open across Cumbria

Voting has begun in council and police and crime commissioner elections being held in Cumbria.

There are elections for a third of councillors on Carlisle and South Lakeland councils and elections across the county for the Cumbria Police PCC.

Polling stations opened their doors at 07:00 BST and will close at 22:00.

Across England elections are taking place for more than 120 councils, the London Assembly and 36 police and crime commissioners.

Carlisle elections are being held for Belah, Belle Vue, Botcherby, Brampton, Castle, Currock, Dalston, Denton Holme, Great Corby and Geltsdale, Harraby, Hayton, Morton, St Aidans, Stanwix Urban, Upperby, Wetheral and Yewdale wards.

In South Lakeland votes are being cast in Arnside and Beetham, Burton and Holme, Coniston and Crake Valley, Crooklands, Hawkshead, Levens, Lyth Valley, Milnthorpe, Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale, Staveley-in-Cartmel, Staveley-in-Westmorland, Ulverston Central, Ulverston East, Ulverston North, Ulverston South, Ulverston Town and Ulverston West wards.

Related Topics