Wales Election 2016

Final farewell to the Welsh Assembly for 13 AMs

Senedd Image copyright PA

Welsh assembly members will cease to be AMs on Wednesday as the assembly is formally dissolved ahead of May's election.

While most will be hoping to return to Cardiff Bay for another term of office, more than a dozen members have already confirmed they will not be standing again.

Of the 13 politicians calling it a day, eight have served since the first assembly election in 1999.

Two others were first elected in 2003.

Ten of those stepping down are Labour politicians including the current Presiding Officer Dame Rosemary Butler and the economy and education ministers, Edwina Hart and Huw Lewis.

Other retiring Labour AMs include Gwenda Thomas, the former deputy minister for social services, and the former deputy minister for tackling poverty, Jeff Cuthbert.

The Labour Chief Whip Janice Gregory is also standing down.

Plaid Cymru has three members who will not be returning to the Senedd including former heritage ministers Rhodri Glyn Thomas and Alun Ffred Jones.

"It was a very exciting time when the assembly was set up," Mr Thomas said.

"Of course it was set up under a first secretary with a system of committees really discussing the devolved areas and then 17 years later we're a legislative body with full legislative powers within the devolved areas so we've moved very quickly and we've moved a great distance," he added.

"The last 17 years have been enjoyable and productive. Hopefully a great deal has been achieved."

Plaid Cymru's Jocelyn Davies who served as deputy minister for housing is also stepping down.

Despite the assembly being dissolved the Welsh government will continue with its business up until the election.

Retiring AMs

Welsh Labour

Dame Rosemary Butler, Newport West

Christine Chapman, Cynon Valley

Jeffrey Cuthbert, Caerphilly

Keith Davies, Llanelli

Janice Gregory, Ogmore

Edwina Hart, Gower

Huw Lewis, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney

Sandy Mewies, Delyn

Gwyn R Price, Islwyn

Gwenda Thomas, Neath

Plaid Cymru

Jocelyn Davies, South Wales East region

Alun Ffred Jones, Arfon

Rhodri Glyn Thomas, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr

More on this story