Wales Election 2016

Welsh Assembly Election 2016: Labour retains Gower in strong night

Media playback is unsupported on your device
Media captionRebecca Evans said integrity had been the "cornerstone" of Labour's campaign in Gower

Labour has held onto the Gower constituency it lost to the Conservatives in the shock 2015 general election result.

Rebecca Evans saw off Tory Lyndon Jones by 1,829 votes.

She polled 11,982 votes, down on five years ago, while UKIP came third.

Labour also retained its seats in both Swansea East and Swansea West, Neath, Aberavon and Llanelli. Meanwhile UKIP secured two regional seats.

Plaid Cymru kept its seat in Carmarthen East and Dinefwr and the Conservatives held on to both Preseli Pembrokeshire, and Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South.

In the South West regional vote, Plaid Cymru took two seats, UKIP one and the Conservatives one.

On the Mid and West Wales regional list, two Labour members were elected along with one Plaid and one UKIP AM.

Caroline Jones and Neil Hamilton are among the first ever UKIP members of the Welsh Assembly.

Image caption Jeremy Miles retained the Neath seat for Labour
Image caption Mike Hedges (second from right) held the Swansea East seat for Labour

Related Topics

More on this story