Trump wins

Republican Donald Trump is elected US president, defeating Democrat Hillary Clinton. His victory came after key wins in the battleground states of Florida, Ohio, North Carolina and Pennsylvania.

Key battleground states

Crucial states in deciding who wins the election. Why do some states matter more than others?

Florida

Photo of Donald Trump

PROJECTED FOR TRUMP

State projected at: 23:30 EST (04:30 GMT)

29 electoral votes

After 100% of voting districts

Clinton
47.8%
Trump
49.1%
Others
3.1%

Pennsylvania

Photo of Donald Trump

PROJECTED FOR TRUMP

State projected at: 02:48 EST (07:48 GMT)

20 electoral votes

After 99.8% of voting districts

Clinton
47.6%
Trump
48.8%
Others
3.6%

Ohio

Photo of Donald Trump

PROJECTED FOR TRUMP

State projected at: 22:23 EST (03:23 GMT)

18 electoral votes

After 100% of voting districts

Clinton
43.5%
Trump
52.1%
Others
4.4%

Michigan

Photo of Donald Trump

PROJECTED FOR TRUMP

16 electoral votes

After 100% of voting districts

Clinton
47.3%
Trump
47.6%
Others
5.1%

North Carolina

Photo of Donald Trump

PROJECTED FOR TRUMP

State projected at: 23:05 EST (04:05 GMT)

15 electoral votes

After 100% of voting districts

Clinton
46.7%
Trump
50.5%
Others
2.8%

Virginia

Photo of Hillary Clinton

PROJECTED FOR CLINTON

State projected at: 22:32 EST (03:32 GMT)

13 electoral votes

After 99.9% of voting districts

Clinton
49.9%
Trump
45.0%
Others
5.1%

Arizona

Photo of Donald Trump

PROJECTED FOR TRUMP

State projected at: 02:35 EST (07:35 GMT)

11 electoral votes

After 100% of voting districts

Clinton
45.4%
Trump
49.5%
Others
5.1%

Wisconsin

Photo of Donald Trump

PROJECTED FOR TRUMP

State projected at: 03:04 EST (08:04 GMT)

10 electoral votes

After 100% of voting districts

Clinton
46.9%
Trump
47.9%
Others
5.2%

Congress

The Republican Party retained control of the Senate and House of Representatives.

Select a tab for corresponding congress results from the following years

Senate 2016 results
100 seats, 34 up for election

Republicans

52 seats

Democrats

46 seats

Independents

2 seats

House of Representatives 2016 results
435 seats, all up for election

Republicans

241 seats

Democrats

194 seats

Senate 2014 results
100 seats, 34 up for election

Democrats

44 seats

Republicans

54 seats

Independents

2 seats

House of Representatives 2014 results
435 seats, all up for election

Democrats

188 seats

Republicans

247 seats

Senate 2012 results
100 seats, 34 up for election

Democrats

53 seats

Republicans

45 seats

Independents

2 seats

House of Representatives 2012 results
435 seats, all up for election

Democrats

201 seats

Republicans

234 seats

Senate 2010 results
100 seats, 34 up for election

Democrats

51 seats

Republicans

47 seats

Independents

2 seats

House of Representatives 2010 results
435 seats, all up for election

Democrats

193 seats

Republicans

242 seats