Entertainment & Arts

T S Eliot poetry prize shortlist announced

Michael Symmons Roberts, winner of the Forward Prize for best collection
Image caption Michael Symmons Roberts collection Drysalter consists of 150 15-line poems

The shortlist for the T S Eliot Prize for Poetry 2013 has been announced, with one of this year's Forward Prize winners, Michael Symmons Roberts, in the final 10.

Symmons Roberts won the Forward prize for best collection with Drysalter.

The other shortlisted poets are: Helen Mort (Division Street), Robin Robertson (Hill of Doors), Sinead Morrissey (Parallax), Maurice Riordan (The Water Stealer), and Daljit Nagra (Ramayana: A Retelling).

Also on the list are Dannie Abse (Speak, Old Parrot), George Szirtes (Bad Machine), Anne Carson (Red Doc>) and Moniza Alvi (At the Time of Partition).

Chair of judges Ian Duhig said: "It's an honour to chair the TS Eliot Prize, a pleasure to work with my distinguished fellow judges Imtiaz Dharker and Vicki Feaver, and a nightmare to shortlist from so many fantastic books.

"Congratulations to those poets who made it and those who didn't, so much of whose work I read with enormous delight and envy."

The shortlist was chosen from 113 books submitted by publishers.

The winner of the prize, now in its 20th year, will be announced on 13 January 2014. The winner will be presented with a cheque for £15,000, donated by the T S Eliot Trustees. The shortlisted poets each receive £1,000.

Last year's winner of the prize was Sharon Olds with Stag's Leap - a collection about the end of her marriage. She was the first female American poet to win.

Previous winners include John Burnside, Alice Oswald, Don Paterson, Carol Ann Duffy, Seamus Heaney, Sean O'Brien and Ted Hughes.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites