Entertainment & Arts

The Kinks' Ray Davies to join Songwriters Hall of Fame

Ray Davies Image copyright Reuters
Image caption Ray Davies penned numerous hit songs with The Kinks including Waterloo Sunset and Dedicated Follower of Fashion

The Kinks frontman Ray Davies is among five hitmakers to be inducted into the US Songwriters Hall of Fame this year.

The Londoner has been honoured for penning a string of chart hits including You Really Got Me and Lola.

Scottish singer Donovan, most famous for his song Mellow Yellow, will also be inducted along with 10cc's Graham Gouldman.

Midnight Train To Georgia writer Jim Weatherly and Mark James, who wrote Suspicious Minds, also made the cut.

The five songwriters were selected from a list of nominees that also included Madonna, Nile Rodgers, Sade and Led Zeppelin's Jimmy Page and Robert Plant.

Davies, who formed The Kinks with his brother Dave in 1964, was the band's chief songwriter.

Other songs he penned which went on to become top 10 hits around the world included All Day and All of The Night, Dedicated Follower of Fashion and Waterloo Sunset.

Image copyright Reuters
Image caption Donovan is most famous for his 1967 UK chart hit Mellow Yellow

Glasgow-born Donovan Leitch also scored hits on both sides of the Atlantic with Sunshine Superman, Hurdy Gurdy Man and Catch the Wind.

As well as writing tracks for 10cc such as I'm Not In Love, Gouldman has also written songs for Herman's Hermits, The Hollies, Cher and Jeff Beck.

Gladys Knight and the Pips recorded some 12 songs penned by Weatherly. As well as Midnight Train To Georgia, they also recorded You're The Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me and Where Peaceful Waters Flow.

While James first came to prominence after writing Hooked On A Feeling, which became a hit for Blue Swede in 1974.

He is credited with helping to revive Elvis Presley's career thanks to his track Suspicious Minds, which reached number one after the performer's '68 Comeback Special.

James's other hits include Moody Blue, Raised On Rock and Always On My Mind.

"Each of our 2014 inductees has been responsible for captivating the world with their creativity for decades, serving up a rich variety of songs for our global soundtrack," Songwriters Hall of Fame chairman Jimmy Webb said.

"We are looking forward to celebrating their contributions."

The five new inductees will be honoured at a ceremony on 12 June in New York.

Past honourees include Burt Bacharach, Billy Joel, Dolly Parton, Joni Mitchell and Aerosmith, all of whom were inducted last year.

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites