Entertainment & Arts

Penny Dreadful and Sherlock win Bafta TV Craft Awards

Penny Dreadful Image copyright Sky
Image caption Josh Hartnett and Eva Green star in Sky Atlantic's Penny Dreadful

Penny Dreadful and Sherlock were the biggest winners at Bafta's Television Craft Awards, honouring British TV talent from behind-the-scenes.

Sky Atlantic's supernatural horror Penny Dreadful, set in Victorian London, won for original music, production design and make-up and hair.

BBC One's Sherlock won the sound and editing awards in the fiction category.

Mackenzie Crook won his first Bafta, for comedy writing, for Detectorists, which he starred in with Toby Jones.

Happy Valley writer Sally Wainwright was honoured in the drama category for her rural police thriller.

The BBC One drama is one of four programmes leading the nominations at next month's Bafta TV awards, where it is up for three alongside The Missing, Line of Duty and Marvellous.

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption The Office star Mackenzie Crook was handed his first ever Bafta for writing BBC Four comedy series Detectorists, which he also directed and starred in
Image caption Crook (fourth from right) and Toby Jones (fourth from left) play members of the Danebury Metal Detecting Club in Detectorists

Julian Farino, the director of BBC Two's fantasy-biopic Marvellous - which starred Toby Jones as Neil Baldwin - was also honoured at Sunday night's Craft Awards ceremony, hosted by Stephen Mangan.

Staff on ITV talent show The X Factor won the entertainment craft team award, beating rival teams on BBC One shows The Voice and Strictly Come Dancing.

Other winners included the 2014 FA Cup Final (ITV Sport), Channel 4's Grayson Perry: Who Are You?, ITV's The Lost Honour of Christopher Jefferies and Messiah at the Foundling Hospital (BBC Two).

Work on BBC One's Doctor Who, Paedophile Hunter and Dispatches' Children on the Frontline on Channel 4, the BBC's Winter Olympics 2014 coverage and The Musketeers (BBC One) was also honoured.

Image caption Sherlock's Benedict Cumberbatch is up for best actor at next month's Bafta TV Awards

Hilary Briegel was handed the evening's special award, for her work as a vision mixer on programmes including Absolutely Fabulous, Only Fools and Horses, Newsnight, the Wimbledon Championships and the Olympic Games.

Sherlock - starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman - has now earned nine Baftas in four years.

Penny Dreadful, whose cast includes Helen McCrory, Eva Green and Simon Russell Beale, also triumphed in the original music category for Abel Korzeniowski's score.

British Academy Television Craft Awards winners in full:

Special award - Hilary Briegel

Breakthrough talent - Marc Williamson (The Last Chance School)

Costume design - Phoebe De Gaye (The Musketeers)

Digital Creativity - Live From Space: Online

Director, factual - Dan Reed (The Paedophile Hunter)

Director, fiction - Julian Farino (Marvellous)

Director, multi-camera - Paul Mcnamara (2014 FA Cup Final)

Editing, factual - Jake Martin (Grayson Perry: Who Are You?)

Editing, fiction - Yan Miles (Sherlock)

Entertainment craft team - Dave Davey, Robert Edwards, Falk Rosenthal (The X Factor)

Make up and hair design - Enzo Mastrantonio, Nick Dudman, Stefano Ceccarelli (Penny Dreadful)

Original music - Abel Korzeniowski (Penny Dreadful)

Photography, factual: Marcel Mettelsiefen - (Children On The Frontline, Dispatches)

Photography and lighting, Fiction - Mike Eley (The Lost Honour Of Christopher Jefferies)

Production design - Jonathan McKinstry, Philip Murphy (Penny Dreadful)

Sound, factual - Mike Hatch, Kuz Randhawa, Matt Skilton (Messiah At The Foundling Hospital)

Sound, fiction - John Mooney, Douglas Sinclair, Howard Bargroff, Paul Mcfadden (Sherlock)

Special, visual and graphic Effects - MILK VFX, REAL SFX, BBC WALES VFX (Doctor Who)

Titles and graphic identity - Mark Roalfe, Tomek Baginski, Ron Chakraborty (Winter Olympics 2014)

Writer, comedy - Mackenzie Crook (Detectorists)

Writer, drama - Sally Wainwright (Happy Valley)

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites