Francois Englert and Peter Higgs
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Higgs boson scientists win Nobel physics prize

8 October 2013 Last updated at 12:16 BST

Two scientists have won the Nobel prize in physics for their work on the theory of the Higgs boson.

Peter Higgs, from the UK, and Francois Englert from Belgium, shared the prize.

In the 1960s they were among several physicists who proposed a mechanism to explain why the most basic building blocks of the Universe have mass.

Staffan Normark, of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, made the announcement.