Bristol mayor candidate list of 15 revealed

Fifteen candidates have paid the deposit to run for Bristol mayor, the BBC has learned.

The registration deadline for candidates has passed but those who have registered still have until Wednesday to withdraw.

All but one have paid a further £750 to appear in an election booklet which will be delivered to every voter in Bristol at the end of the month.

Nominations closed at midday and voters will go to the polls on 15 November.

Geoff Gollop is the Conservative candidate, Marvin Rees is standing for Labour and Jon Rogers for the Liberal Democrats.

Other parties are being represented by Tom Baldwin (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts), Dave Dobbs (The Birthday Party), George Ferguson (Bristol 1st), Neil Maggs (Respect) and Daniella Radice (Green).

There are also seven independents, including Tony Britt, Tim Collins, Rich Fisher, Owain George, Spud Murphy and Philip Pover.

The BBC understands the candidate who has chosen not to appear in the booklet is an independent, as yet anonymous.

Bristol City Council's returning officer Stephen McNamara held a draw earlier to determine the order in which the candidates would appear in the Bristol mayor election booklet.

More on this story

Around the BBC

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites