Ann Barnes resigns as police authority chair

Ann Barnes
Image caption Ann Barnes announced her intention to stand for election last month

The chair of Kent Police Authority has resigned after announcing she is to stand as an independent candidate for Kent Police Commissioner.

Ann Barnes was appointed to the authority in 2001, and was elected as chair in June 2005.

"It would not be right and proper for me to remain as a member of the authority after declaring as a candidate," she said.

Police commissioners will be elected in England and Wales on 15 November.

Ms Barnes's resignation will take effect from 10 August.

The Conservative candidate is Medway councillor Craig MacKinlay. Labour's is Ashford councillor Harriet Yeo.

Five other independent candidates have announced they will stand in the election - Thanet councillor Ian Driver, former Medway Mayor Dai Liyange, businessman Fergus Wilson, former Kent police officer Fran Croucher and campaigner Ken Little.

The Liberal Democrats are not putting forward a candidate.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites