Leicester mayor candidates announced

The list of 11 candidates wanting to become Leicester's first directly elected city mayor has been announced.

Gary Hunt, Knighton ward councillor and a former lord mayor of Leicester is the Liberal Democrat candidate.

Standing for the Conservatives is Leicester city councillor Ross Grant.

Former MP for Leicester South Sir Peter Soulsby will stand for the Labour Party, after resigning his post as an MP to run for the mayoral position.

The other eight candidates are:

* Regine Anderson - UK Independence Party (UKIP)

* John Bowley - Independent

* Mohinder Farma - Unity for Peace and Socialism

* Geoff Forse - Green Party

* Rick Moore - Independent

* Nima Patel - Independent

* Mu-hamid Pathan - Independent

* Lee Sowden - Independent

Plans for an elected mayor in Leicester were approved by the Labour-controlled council in December.

The new mayor will have the power to initiate policies across council services and will select up to nine councillors as a supporting cabinet.

People in Leicester will vote in four ballots on 5 May - city and mayoral elections, a by-election and the alternative vote referendum.

The by-election was prompted by Labour MP Sir Peter Soulsby stepping down as an MP to run for the mayoral role.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites