Jordan Begley death: Names of Taser officers released

Jordan Lee Begley Image copyright PA
Image caption Jordan Lee Begley died after he was hit with the electric stun gun on 10 July 2013

Five police officers who had been granted temporary anonymity at an inquest into a man shot with a Taser have been named by the coroner.

Jordan Lee Begley died after being hit with the electric stun gun by a Greater Manchester Police officer in July 2013.

The PC who pulled the Taser trigger has been named as Terence Donnelly.

The four officers involved in restraining the 23-year-old at the time were PCs Dave Graham, Christopher Mills, Peter Fox and Andrew Wright.

'Death bounty'

The five had been granted an interim anonymity order on 15 December 2014, meaning their lawyers could have appealed to the High Court.

In a written ruling, Nigel Meadows, the senior coroner for Manchester, said "no such challenge is to be pursued and consequently the officers... can now be identified".

He added lawyers could still ask for "special measures to protect the physical appearance of the officers" and that he had yet to decide whether to allow such an application, should it be made.

At a hearing in December, Mr Meadows was told that a £50,000 bounty from crime gangs was the prize for shooting dead an armed police officer.

The claim was made by Supt Leor Giladi in support of the five officers, who has said they feared retribution from organised crime groups if they are named.

Lawyers for the Press Association, the Guardian, Associated Newspapers and ITV had argued not naming the men would be "a major derogation from the open justice principle".

The inquest into Mr Begley's death is due to begin on 1 June and is expected to last for five weeks.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites