Public toilet responsibility transferred in Shropshire

A number of town and parish councils in Shropshire have taken over the running of their public toilets.

Shropshire Council has been working with town and parish councils to transfer responsibility for public toilets to save money.

A council spokesman said the move would protect the facilities for residents and visitors.

The transfer of the toilet facilities will be at no cost to the town or parish councils.

The Conservative-led authority will provide a one-off financial grant, minor repairs and maintenance.

The councils will be able to choose whether they want to charge people to use the toilets or not.

The public toilets affected include Ludlow, Whitchurch, Ellesmere, Bishop's Castle, Wem, Oswestry and Clun, with more additions expected.

Toilets in Clee Hill, Craven Arms and Prees Heath, where town and parish councils did not wish to take them on, have closed.

'Doing things differently'

Public toilets in the Bridgnorth area will continue to operate until 2013, due to existing contractual arrangements.

The changes do not include the toilets owned and operated by Shrewsbury Town Council.

Councillor Martin Taylor Smith, Shropshire Council's cabinet member for development services, said: "We understand the importance of public toilets and the vital part they play within local communities.

"Therefore, we are eager to protect them by doing things differently."

He added they were also developing a community toilet scheme that will allow people to use existing commercial premises, during business hours without an obligation to purchase.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites