Surrey electoral areas to change after boundary review

A review of electoral boundaries across Surrey will see the county gain another councillor in the local elections to be held in 2013.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England said it had published recommendations which would go before parliament in coming months.

The decision follows a 12-week public consultation, it said.

It added the county would have 81 county councillors - one more than it currently has.

'Strong community feeling'

Deputy chairman of the commission Professor Colin Mellors said some changes had been made to draft proposals because of the consultation.

He said there was "strong evidence" about the community identity of the Weston Green area, which would have been split between two divisions but was now all included The Dittons division.

Chobham parish had also faced being split but would be included in the Bagshot, Windlesham and Chobham division, he added.

And further strong evidence of community identity led to a decision to put Crowhurst parish in the Lingfield electoral division and Tandridge parish in the Oxted division, he said.

Mr Mellors said the proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament.

He said a draft order would go before Parliament in the next few months so the new arrangements could come into force in next year's elections.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites