Northern Ireland

Thousands take part in Belfast's 31st city marathon

About 20,000 people have taken part in Belfast's 31st marathon.

In wet and windy conditions, Ethiopian Urga Negowu won the men's race in a record 2:13:41. The women's was won by Kenyan Alice Chelangat in 2:39:02.

The wheelchair event was won by Ballymena man Darrell Erwin.

Almost 3,800 runners participated in the marathon itself, with about 21,000 taking part in the overall event which included a team relay, a walk and a fun run.

Tommy Hughes was the first local runner to finish, in eighth place with a time of 2:29:43. He was the last Northern Ireland athlete to win in Belfast, back in 1998.

The Belfast City Marathon route began at the City Hall and took in much of the city, including Sydenham, Falls Road and Ravenhill Road, before ending in Ormeau Park.

Lord Mayor of Belfast, Niall O Donnghaile, said: "Despite the weather conditions, the wind and the rain did nothing to dampen the enthusiasm of those taking part, as well as the many thousands who turned out, in spite of the miserable conditions, to cheer on friends and family - and even people they didn't know."

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites