Final Northern Ireland super council recommendations

Northern Ireland’s new super council boundaries map

Final recommendations for the make-up of 11 new so-called super councils for Northern Ireland have been published.

They will replace the current 26 district councils and will have responsibility for local planning, housing repairs and demolition.

Officials hope the Local Government Bill will make it through all its stages by February or March of next year.

Elections to the new councils are due to be held in May.

The new councils are Antrim and Newtownabbey; Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon; Belfast; Causeway Coast and Glens; Derry and Strabane; Fermanagh and Omagh; Lisburn and Castlereagh; Mid and East Antrim; Mid Ulster; Newry, Mourne and Down; and North Down and Ards.

The new arrangements would see the number of councillors reduced from 582 to 462.

As before, they will be elected by proportional representation.

Here are the proposed district electoral areas under the 11 new councils.

Antrim and Newtownabbey

  • Airport
  • Antrim
  • Ballyclare
  • Dunsilly
  • Glengormley Urban
  • Macedon
  • Three Mile Water

Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon

  • Armagh
  • Banbridge
  • Craigavon
  • Cusher
  • Lagan River
  • Lurgan
  • Portadown


  • Balmoral
  • Black Mountain
  • Botanic
  • Castle
  • Collin
  • Court
  • Lisnasharragh
  • Oldpark
  • Ormiston
  • Titanic

Causeway Coast and Glens

  • Ballymoney
  • Bann
  • Benbradagh
  • Causeway
  • Coleraine
  • Limavady
  • The Glens

Derry and Strabane

  • Ballyarnett
  • Derg
  • Faughan
  • Foyleside
  • Sperrin
  • The Moor
  • Waterside

Fermanagh and Omagh

  • Enniskillen
  • Erne East
  • Erne North
  • Erne West
  • Mid Tyrone
  • Omagh
  • West Tyrone

Lisburn and Castlereagh

  • Castlereagh East
  • Castlereagh South
  • Downshire East
  • Downshire West
  • Killultagh
  • Lisburn North
  • Lisburn South

Mid and East Antrim

  • Ballymena
  • Bannside
  • Braid
  • Carrick Castle
  • Coast Road
  • Knockagh
  • Larne Lough

Mid Ulster

  • Carntogher
  • Clogher Valley
  • Cookstown
  • Dungannon
  • Magherafelt
  • Moyola
  • Torrent

Newry, Mourne and Down

  • Crotlieve
  • Downpatrick
  • Newry
  • Rowallane
  • Slieve Croob
  • Slieve Gullion
  • The Mournes

North Down and Ards

  • Ards Peninsula
  • Bangor Central
  • Bangor East and Donaghadee
  • Bangor West
  • Comber
  • Holywood and Clandeboye
  • Newtownards

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

More Northern Ireland stories


Features & Analysis

Elsewhere on the BBC

  • Audi R8Best in show

    BBC Autos takes a look at 10 of the most eye-catching new cars at the 2015 Geneva motor show


  • A robotClick Watch

    The latest in robotics including software that can design electronics to solve problems

Try our new site and tell us what you think. Learn more
Take me there

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.