Award for BBC Scotland programme on school abuse

Fort Augustus Abbey
Image caption A BBC programme uncovered evidence of decades of physical and sexual abuse by some monks at Fort Augustus Abbey school, which is now closed

BBC Scotland's Mark Daly has won Scoop of the Year and Television Journalist of the Year at the Royal Television Society Scotland awards.

The Scoop award was for his work with producer Murdoch Rodgers on child abuse in the Catholic Church.

The RTS jury said "Sins of our fathers" was "a most significant story which led to serious repercussions in the Catholic Church."

The BBC Scotland drama Field of Blood won its category.

Piper Alpha: Fire in the Night from STV Productions and Berriff McGinty Films picked up the award for Factual.

The Comedy award went to Limmy's Show Christmas Special, produced by The Comedy Unit.

Outstanding contribution

The News Coverage award was won by STV News for the Clutha Helicopter Crash.

BT Sport picked up the Live Event award for its coverage of the Friday night match between Motherwell and Celtic, while Best Sports Programme was BBC2's Driven: The Fastest Woman in the World.

Dr Who actor Peter Capaldi received the RTS Scotland Award for outstanding contribution to television in Scotland and beyond.

They jury said: "An acclaimed writer, performer and director, Peter has achieved phenomenal success at home and abroad.

"Original, memorable, engaging and definitive - his contribution to television has been exceptional, and the committee feel he is a worthy and much deserved winner of this inaugural award."

Winners in full:

Production Awards: Factual - Piper Alpha: Fire in the Night, STV Productions and Berriff McGinty Films for BBC Two. Drama - Field of Blood, BBC Scotland/Slate North

News Coverage: STV News - Clutha Helicopter Crash, STV

Scoop of the Year: Mark Daly and Murdoch Rodgers - "Sins of our fathers", BBC Scotland News and Current Affairs

Sport Live Event: BT Sport Friday night football - Motherwell v Celtic, Sunset & Vine Productions Ltd for BT Sport

Sport Programme: Driven: The Fastest Woman in the World, BBC Two

Comedy: Limmy's Show Christmas Special, The Comedy Unit for BBC One

Children's: Katie Morag and the Tiresome Ted, Move on Up/Struay Pictures for CBeebies

Student Television Award: Hannah - Michael Crumley, Rosemary Levine and Jonathan Blair, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Television Journalist of the Year: Mark Daly - BBC Scotland Investigates and Newsnight, BBC Scotland

Professional Excellence Camera: Carlo D'Alessandro - Michael Palin in Wyeth's World, BBC Scotland for BBC Two

Professional Excellence Sound: John Cobban - Vinnie Jones: Russia's Toughest, Tern TV for National Geographic

Professional Excellence Post production Editing: Laura Wilson - Michael Palin in Wyeth's World, BBC Scotland for BBC Two

Professional Excellence: Post production Graphics & Titling: Damien Smith, Mark Breslin and Clyde Lawson - The Shooting Gallery, ISO Design/Channel 4

The Digital Innovation Award: Damien Smith, Mark Breslin and Clyde Lawson - The Gallery of Lost Art, ISO Design/Tate/Channel 4/AHRC

The RTS Scotland Award: Peter Capaldi

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites