Edinburgh, Fife & East Scotland

SNP take Scotland's safest seat of Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath

Gordon Brown Image copyright Reuters

The SNP has taken Gordon Brown's former constituency which had been the safest seat in Scotland.

The SNP overturned a majority of more than 23,000 to take Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath, once held by the former prime minister.

Labour candidate Kenny Selbie failed to follow the former chancellor to victory.

Labour's Ian Murray was the only MP who managed to retain his Edinburgh South seat in the face of the SNP landslide.

Mr Murray polled 19,293 votes to beat SNP's Neil Hay by 2,637 votes.

Mr Murray said: "We need to get the passion back into Scottish Labour and start talking about the values that run through us like sticks of rock."

Mr Selbie got 17,654 votes, nearly 10,000 less than nationalist Roger Mullin who picked up 27,628.

In the capital, the SNP's Tommy Sheppard ousted Labour's Sheila Gilmore to win the Edinburgh East seat with 23,188 votes over 14,082.

The SNP's Deidre Leanne Brock pushed Labour's Mark Lazarowicz out of the Edinburgh North and Leith seat.

High turnout

In Edinburgh South West, the SNP's Joanna Catherine Cherry took over from Labour's Ricky Henderson, polling 22, 168 votes against 14,033 votes.

In Edinburgh West, the Lib Dem's Mike Crockart lost his seat to the SNP's Michelle Rhonda Thompson, who polled 21,378 votes against 18,168.

In Livingston, the SNP's Hannah Mary Bardell took Labour's Graeme Morrice's seat with 32,736 votes against 15,893.

In Midlothian the SNP's Owen George Thompson beat Labour's Kenny Young with 24,453 compared with 14,594.

In East Lothian the SNP's George Kerevan secured the seat with 25,104 votes to push Labour's Fiona O'Donnell out.

The SNP's Douglas Chapman secured 28,096 votes over Labour's Thomas Docherty who got 17,744 votes to win Dunfermline and West Fife.

The SNP's Martyn Day won the Linlithgow and Falkirk and East seat with 32,055 votes against Michael Connarty who got 19,121 votes.

In Fife North East, the SNP's Stephen Patrick Gethins took the Lib Dem's seat with their candidate Tim Brett getting 14,179 votes compared with the SNP's 18,523 votes.

The SNP's Peter Grant took the Glenrothes seat with 28,459 votes from Labour's Melanie Ward who got 14,562 votes.

In Edinburgh the turnout was 73.01% from an electorate of 357,718 with 261,165 votes cast.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites