NE Scotland, Orkney & Shetland

Councillor death by-election in Aberdeen held

Ron Clark [Pic: Aberdeen City Council]
Image caption Aberdeen councillor Ron Clark passed away in February

A by-election following the death of a long-serving Aberdeen councillor has been held.

Ron Clark, the Lib Dem representative for Dyce, Bucksburn and Danestone, had been in public service for more than 30 years.

He died in February, prompting tributes from political colleagues from all parties.

It was decided not to coincide the by-election with the Scottish Parliament elections on 5 May.

The candidates are Kristian Chapman (Lib Dem), Angela Joss (Independent), Graeme Lawrence (Labour), Neil MacGregor (SNP), Rhonda Reekie (Green) and Ross Thomson (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party).

Polling was taking place between 0700 BST and 2200 BST.

The election was being held using the single transferable vote proportional representation system.

The count will then take place on Friday.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites