Scotland politics

East Renfrewshire Council

  • In local government terms, East Renfrewshire is a relatively young council.
  • It was formed in 1996, as a successor to the Eastwood District Council, and its main towns include Newton Mearns, Giffnock, Clarkston and Barrhead.
  • The area is characteristically residential and has some of the best-performing state schools in the country.
  • Last year, three of its high schools - St Ninian's; Mearns Castle and Williamwood - were among the top five, based on Highers results passed by the end of fifth year.
  • The council employs more than 3,000 people.
  • It has a population of almost 90,000 residents.
  • Within its boundaries is Europe's largest onshore wind farm , Whitelee, on Eaglesham Moor, which has 140 turbines.
  • It also has the popular Edwardian Rouken Glen park featuring a boating pond, play and skate boarding parks, a large waterfall, woodland walks and a walled garden.

More on this story