Scotland politics

SNP sets up Westminster Brexit committee

Angus Robertson Image copyright PA
Image caption The committee will be chaired by Angus Robertson, who is standing for the party's deputy leadership

The SNP has set up a new committee of its MPs to examine the impact of the UK voting to leave the EU.

The Westminster SNP Coordination Group will be chaired by Angus Robertson, who is the party's leader in the House of Commons.

It also includes Alex Salmond as well as Stephen Gethins, Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh and Hannah Bardell.

The party has also reshuffled its front bench team to shadow new departments created by the prime minister.

The changes include Mr Gethins becoming the party's Brexit spokesman in parliament after David Davis was appointed to head a new department for leaving the EU in Whitehall.

Ms Ahmed-Sheikh will be the party's International Trade spokeswoman, shadowing Dr Liam Fox who is also heading a new department created after the Leave vote.

It follows SNP MSP Michael Russell, the former Scottish education minister, being confirmed as Minister for UK Negotiations on Scotland's Place in Europe.