Tayside and Central Scotland

SNP boosts lead in Tayside and Perthshire 'heartland'

John Swinney's speaking after winning Perthshire North
Image caption John Swinney increased his majority in Perthshire North

The SNP has increased its vote across the Tayside and Central region, traditionally seen as the nationalists' heartland.

The SNP's Shona Robison increased her majority in Dundee East by more than 15%.

In Perthshire, other leading nationalist politicians saw a boost in their votes, with John Swinney and Roseanna Cunningham comfortably re-elected.

Stirling, previously a Labour seat, has been seized by the SNP.

The nationalists have also held Clackmannanshire and Dunblane, with an increased majority of 3,609.

Bruce Crawford is the new MSP for Stirling with a 5,670 majority, a 16% rise in their share of the vote. In 2007 Labour scraped to victory here with a majority of just 389.

The SNP won Dundee East with an overall majority of 10,679. Labour candidate, Mohammed Asif, saw his party's share of the vote decrease by 9.77%.

The Liberal Democrats also lost their deposit in this strong SNP seat, winning just 800 votes.

Across the city in Dundee West, Joe Fitzpatrick held the seat for the SNP. This was Labour's largest target seat and the nationalists took it with an increased majority of 6,405.

In the Perthshire North constituency, the SNP increased its share of the vote by more than 10%.

The former SNP leader and finance minister John Swinney held the seat, with an overall majority of 10,353. The Liberal Democrats share of the vote here was down by almost 8%.

In Perthshire South and Kinross-shire, Roseanna Cunningham increased her majority for the SNP by 18.5%.

In the two Angus constituencies the SNP also saw a boost to its leads.

Graeme Dey won Angus South with an increase in majority of 4,576 votes.

In Angus North and Mearns, Nigel Don won with a 11.4% increase in the nationalists' share of the vote.

The Liberal Democrats saw their share fall by almost 14%.

Clackmannanshire and Dunblane was the last constituency seat to be declared. Keith Brown held the seat for the SNP. The party increased its share of the vote by almost 10%.

The SNP's last win of the day went to Annabelle Ewing in the Mid Scotland and Fife regional list, taking the party's total number of seats to 69.

Other winners on this list were John Park, Richard Simpson and Claire Baker for Labour and Murdo Fraser and Elizabeth Smith for the Conservatives.

Willie Rennie secured a final seat for the Liberal Deomcrats.

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites