Vote 2011: Tories win Aberconwy and Clwyd West targets

Labour's hopes of taking overall control of the Welsh assembly ended with a Conservative wins in Aberconwy and Clwyd West.

The Conservative win means the party also retain two regional seats, with one seat each for Plaid and the Liberal Democrats.

This means that Labour can only get a maximum of 30 seats.

Labour had needed 31 seats to ditch Plaid Cymru as its coalition partner for the past four years.

The Conservatives took Aberconwy from Plaid, a key Labour target, with a 1,567 majority for Janet Finch-Saunders.

Meanwhile, Conservative Darren Millar comfortably held Clwyd West, in Labour's other main target in north Wales.

Alun Ffred Jones and Ieuan Wyn Jones both retained their seats in Arfon and Ynys Môn.

And Labour held their seats in the Vale of Clwyd, Wrexham, Clwyd South, Delyn and Alyn and Deeside.

Image caption Conservative Darren Millar comfortably held Clwyd West, which was one of Labour's two target seats

The first seat to declare in north Wales was the Vale of Clwyd where Labour's Ann Jones had a 51% share of the vote.

She said: "The results today do show that people have taken the Labour alternative and a way in which Labour will govern Wales.

"We will stand up for Wales," she added.

Local Government Minister Carl Sargeant, who held Labour's Alyn and Deeside constituency with 52.6% of vote, said the "people of Wales have spoken", adding a decision on the way the party will run the assembly will be "taken across the weekend".

"We have been confident but not complacement" and the only party which has been "looking to govern Wales alone", he said.

Election officials in north Wales made the decision to count votes the day after the election, despite pressure to count overnight as happened in the rest of the country.

Counting for a total of 13 seats - constituency and regional - began at about 0930 BST.

As well as assembly seats, people have also voted on whether to replace the first-past-the-post system for electing Westminster MPs with the alternative vote (AV).

Counting will start in the AV referendum at 1600 BST on Friday.