Wales politics

Mark Drakeford named Welsh politician of the year

Mark Drakeford
Image caption Mark Drakeford has been handling Brexit negotiations for the Welsh Government

Finance Secretary Mark Drakeford has been named Welsh Politician of the Year in the 13th annual awards.

Judges praised him for his "mastery of a vast portfolio", including Brexit negotiations and new taxes.

Labour's Eluned Morgan was named AM of the year and her party colleague Carolyn Harris was MP of the year.

Cancer patient Irfon Williams, who died in May after calling for better access to drugs in Wales, was named the People's Campaigner of the year.

Ben Lake, elected Plaid Cymru MP for Ceredigion in June, was named as the Politician to Watch.

Baroness Morgan, a Mid and West Wales regional AM, was hailed for championing the cause of the rural Wales economy, while Swansea East MP Ms Harris was praised for three major campaigns - on child burial fees, women's pension inequality and a crackdown of fixed odds betting machines.

The winners were chosen by a panel of experts for ITV Wales, chaired by former BBC Cymru Wales controller Geraint Talfan Davies.

Previous winners include the then-Welsh Secretary Stephen Crabb (2014), Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood (2015) and former Welsh Secretary and Brexit minister David Jones (2016).

More on this story