100 Women: Who took part?

The BBC 100 Women

They hail from all over the world, and from walks of life. They do all kinds of things: they make music, save lives, raise children, run businesses, write, preach, act and tell jokes. They campaign for their causes and strive for a better world for themselves and their families.

On Friday 25 October all these women came together at the BBC's London headquarters, Broadcasting House, for a unique day of debate and discussion.

We asked them to tell us where they think the world's women are today, and to set out their goals for the future. The day was broadcast on BBC TV, radio and online.

Here are the full details of who attended, arranged in order of their appearance in the picture above.

Top row (L-R)

Salwa Abu Libdeh Palestinian TV journalist

Madawi Al-Rasheed Saudi academic, gender expert @MadawiDr

Nadia Al-Sakkaf Editor, Yemen Times @theyementimes

Sreymom Ang Cambodian fashion designer

Anna Arrowsmith English porn film director @annaarrowsmith

Joyce Aoko Aruga Student teacher, Kenya

Moe Thuzar Aung Deputy Director, Myanmar state broadcaster (MRTV)

Rehana Azib London-based barrister

Firuza Aliyeva Associate Director, Azerbaijan Diplomatic Academy

Zainab Hawa Bangura UN special representative on sexual violence in conflict

Second row

Michaela Bergman Chief Counsellor for Social Issues, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

Claire Bertschinger Anglo-Swiss nurse whose work inspired Live Aid

Ingrid Betancourt French-Colombian former politican and Farc hostage @BetancourIngrid

Cherie Blair British barrister and philanthropist @CherieBlairFndn

Emma Bonino Minister of Foreign Affairs, Italy @emmabonino

Yvonne Brewster Stage director, teacher and writer

Gurinder Chadha British-Asian film director @gurinderc

Nervana Mahmoud Egyptian blogger and commentator @Nervana_1

Irina Chakraborty Russian-Finnish-Indian engineer

Shadi Sadr Iranian lawyer and human rights defender

Third row

Chipo Chung Chinese-Zimbabwean actor and activist @chipochung

Helen Clark Head of UN Development Programme, former New Zealand PM @HelenClarkUNDP

Diane Coyle Economist, writer and blogger @diane1859

Caroline Criado-Perez British journalist and feminist campaigner @ccriadoperez

Jody Day Founder, Gateway Women network childless women @gatewaywomen

Es Devlin British theatre designer

Klara Dobrev Hungarian lawyer and economist

Efua Dorkenoo Campaigner against female genital mutilation @equalitynow

Sigridur Maria Egilsdottir Iceland's champion debater

Marwa El-Daly Egyptian grassroots NGO founder @marwadaly7

Fourth row

Bushra El-Turk British-Lebanese composer @bushraelturk

Obiageli Ezekwesili Senior adviser, Open Society Foundation @obyezeks

Caroline Farrow Catholic writer, blogger and pro-life activist @blondpidge

Anne Stella Fomumbod Women's rights activist, Cameroon

Teresa Forcades Radical Spanish nun @TeresaForcadesF

Razan Ghazzawi Syrian blogger and activist @RedRazan

Rebecca Gomperts Dutch doctor, head of Women on Waves @rebeccagomperts

Tanni Grey-Thompson Winner of 11 Paralympic Games gold medals @Tanni_GT

Parveen Hassan Conservative women's organiser, UK @PrettyTory

Barbara Hewson Senior barrister, UK @BarbaraHewson

Fifth row

Anis Hidayah Indonesian activist working on migrant worker rights @anishidayah

Deborah Hopkins British mother and political activist @rugbymumno9

Rose Hudson-Wilkin Jamaican born British priest

Bettany Hughes Historian, author, broadcaster @Bettany_Hughes

Rubana Huq Bangladeshi textile manufacturer @Rubanahuq

Leyla Hussein Co-founder, Daughters of Eve, anti-violence campaigner @LeylaHussein

Heather Jackson CEO of An Inspirational Journey and Founder of The Women's Business Forum @jackson_heather

Shelina Zahara Janmohammed Blogger, columnist and author @loveinheadscarf

Laura Janner-Klausner Movement Rabbi, Reform Judaism UK @LauraJanklaus

Aowen Jin Chinese contemporary artist @aowenjin

Sixth row

Andy Kawa South African businesswoman, anti-Violence campaigner @KwaneleEnuf

Tehmina Kazi Director, British Muslims for a Secular Democracy

Jude Kelly Artistic Director, Southbank Centre

Fereshteh Khosroujerdy Visually impaired Iranian singer

Azadeh Kian Iranian academic and genderspecialist

Kanya King CEO and founder, Mobo @KanyaKing

Fawzia Koofi MP and former Deputy Speaker, Afghan National Parliament @FawziaKoofi77

Dina Korzun Russian actor and charity activist

Martha Lane-Fox UK technology entrepreneur and Digital Champion @Marthalanefox

Paris Lees Transgender broadcaster @ParisLees

Seventh row

Ann Leslie Journalist

Sian Lindley Researcher in social technology @SianLindley

Pontso Mafethe Programme manager, Comic Relief

Brooke Magnanti US anthropologist, author, former sex worker @bmagnanti

Mmasekgoa Masire-Mwamba Deputy Secretary General, the Commonwealth @commonwealthsec

Shirley Meredeen Founding member, Growing Old Disgracefully

Samar Samir Mezghanni Record-breaking young Tunisian writer @SamarMEZ

Shazia Mirza British comedian @shaziamirza1

Aditi Mittal Indian comedian @awryaditi

Rosmery Mollo Indigenous Bolivian activist

Eighth row

Orzala Ashraf Nemat Afghan scholar and civil society activist @Orzala

Pauline Neville-Jones Former UK Security and Counter-Terrorism Minister

Susie Orbach Psychotherapist and author @psychoanalysis

Mirina Paananen Islamic researcher

Claudia Paz y Paz Attorney General, Guatemala @mpclaudiapaz

Mariane Pearl French journalist, founder of Chime for Change @MarianePearl

Laura Perrins Stay-at-home mother @Lperrins

Charlotte Raven British feminist and journalist @charlotteraven

Gail Rebuck Chief executive, Random House UK @gailrebuck

Justine Roberts Founder, Mumsnet @Justine_Roberts

Ninth row

Sarah Rogers Voice of Women community radio, Sierra Leone

Fatima Said British-Egyptian pro-democracy @fattysaid

Balvinder Saund Chair of Sikh Women's Alliance

Kamila Shamsie UK-based Pakistani writer @kamilashamsie

Divya Sharma Indian electronics and communications engineer

Bahia Shehab Lebanese-Egyptian artist, designer and art historian

Joanna Shields Chair and CEO, Tech City Investment Organisation @joannashields

Stephanie Shirley Businesswoman and philanthropist @LetITGoOfficial

Clare Short British politician, former International Development Secretary

Jacqui Smith Former UK Home Secretary @smithjj62

Tenth row

Kate Smurthwaite British stand-up comedian and activist @cruella1

Rainatou Sow Guinean founder, Make Every Woman Count

Louise Stephenson Trainee counsellor, UK

May Tha Hla Burmese school building charity founder

Natasha Walter British feminist writer and campaigner

Judith Webb First female commander of all-male British Army squadron @sjbwebb

Saadia Zahidi Head of Gender Parity and Human Capital, World Economic Forum @zahidi

Dinara Zhorobekova Student, Kyrgyzstan

Gemma Godfrey Board director, broadcaster, quantum physicist @GCGodfrey

Martina Navratilova 18-time Grand Slam singles tennis champion @martina

Also attended

Sarah Walker (No picture) Head of the English Collective of Prostitutes

Cerrie Burnell Children's TV presenter

Selma James Writer and activist

More on This Story

100 Women

More World stories

RSS

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.