Will working rule change affect Bulgaria and Romania?

EU & national flags Image copyright AFP/Getty Images
Image caption EU and national flags outside the European Parliament in Strasbourg

At the end of 2013, Bulgarians and Romanians will gain the same rights as other EU citizens to work throughout the European Union.

Nine countries - the UK, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Malta, Spain and The Netherlands - are lifting working restrictions at the end of the year in accordance with EU rules.

Media in some countries have expressed concerns about an expected influx of migrants from what are the poorest countries in the EU.

The Romanian and Bulgarian governments support the rights of their citizens to emigrate, but have played down expectations of a "wave" of migration.

In those countries, there are both hopes and fears about what any mass emigration will mean.

Do you live in Romania or Bulgaria? How do you think these changes to working rights will affect you and your country? Will there be a "brain drain"? Send us your comments and experiences using the form below.

Your contact details

If you are happy to be contacted by a BBC journalist please leave a telephone number that we can contact you on. In some cases a selection of your comments will be published, displaying your name as you provide it and location, unless you state otherwise. Your contact details will never be published. When sending us pictures, video or eyewitness accounts at no time should you endanger yourself or others, take any unnecessary risks or infringe any laws. Please ensure you have read the terms and conditions.

Terms and conditions

More on this story