Africa's proverb of the day

  • 3 September 2015
  • From the section Africa
A woman and her child in Casamance, Senegal Photo: Manuel Toledo Image copyright Manuel Toledo
Image caption "A baby on its mother's back does not know the way is long"

Proverbs are an integral part of African culture. Passed on from generation to generation for centuries, they are still in wide use today and are very much part of everyday speech.

Proverbs are used to illustrate ideas, reinforce arguments and deliver messages of inspiration, consolation, celebration and advice.

The great Nigerian author Chinua Achebe once wrote: "Proverbs are the palm oil with which words are eaten."

Please use the form at the end of this page to send in your wise words.

Your proverbs from the last few months:

Monday 31 August

Fire and gunpowder do not sleep together. An Ashanti proverb sent by Frank Osei Kwabena Asamoah, Obuasi, Ghana

Friday 28 August

Restless feet may walk into a snake pit. Sent by Nganje Cheryl, Mannheim, Germany

Thursday 27 August

A united family eats from the same plate. Sent by Kasozi George, Kampala, Uganda

Wednesday 26 August

The winged termite can only fly for a while; it will eventually become food for the frog. Sent by Wise-Williams, Nigeria

Tuesday 25 August

He who earns calamity eats it with his family. A Swahili proverb sent by Martin Manyiel Wugol, Aweil, South Sudan

Monday 24 August

The hare is small but it begets twins. A Luo proverb sent by Owino Onyango Mak'Oburu, Kenya

Friday 21 August

If the hunter comes back with mushrooms, don't ask him how his hunt was. A Ghanaian proverb sent by Okwir Daniel, Lira, Uganda

Thursday 20 August

Never praise a person for their beauty but rather for their actions. A Kisii proverb sent by Daniel Osiemo Ondiere, Kisumu, Kenya

Wednesday 19 August

He who thinks he is leading and has no one following him is only taking a walk. A Malawian proverb sent by Souplex, Buea, Cameroon

Tuesday 18 August

The inquisitive monkey gets a bullet in the face. An Igbo proverb sent by Afam Ejidike, Aberdeen, UK

Monday 17 August

Only the knife knows what is in the heart of the coco-yam. A proverb from Cameroon sent by Fwangwe Wubai Ndula

Friday 14 August

A container is filled little by little. A Swahili proverb sent by Sameer Yusuf, Wembley, London

Thursday 13 August

If you give bad food to your stomach, it drums for you to dance. Sent by Usman Al-Amin, Nguru, Nigeria

Wednesday 12 August

You cannot hide the smoke when a house is burning. A Kirundi proverb sent by Jean Baptiste Niyongabo, Bujumbura, Burundi

Tuesday 11 August

A millipede will not limp because of one missing leg. A Somali proverb sent by Abdishukri Mohamed, Wajir, Kenya

Monday 10 August

He who wants to taste the honey in a rock should not worry about the edge of his axe. A Yoruba proverb sent by Aderopo Adesola, Saskatoon, Canada

Friday 7 August

A bull that's already pinned to the ground does not resist the branding iron. A Meru proverb sent by Paul Kinoti, Mombasa, Kenya

Thursday 6 August

If you see a person in a gown eating with a person in rags, the food belongs to the latter. Sent by Weluzani Banda, Zambia

Wednesday 5 August

It is the calm and silent water that drowns a man. Sent by Raymond Adjei Opoku, Accra, Ghana

Tuesday 4 August

The forest that does not like baskets should not grow mushrooms. An Igbo proverb sent by Ibru Ibeabuchi, Umuahia Ibeku, Nigeria

Monday 3 August

Too many whistles confuse the dog. A Swahili proverb sent by Mudenda Sipho Bulando, Livingstone, Zambia

Friday 31 July

A bird that chooses to perch on a rope should be ready to dance with the rope. Sent by Emmanuel Ukaegbu, Chester, UK

Thursday 30 July

When a leopard is chasing you, do not ask if it is male or female. A Temne proverb from Sierra Leone sent by Ibn Jamel, London, UK

Wednesday 29 July

The papaya tree which bears sweet fruit always has a stick under it. An Akan proverb sent by Kwabens Kankam Boakye, Kumasi, Ghana

Tuesday 28 July

Whatever the type of firewood found in a place, it is usually good enough for the people of that place to cook with. An Igbo proverb sent by Chukwuemeka Ekere, Calabar, Nigeria

Monday 27 July

Hands wash each other. A Zulu and Swahili proverb sent by Steve Mazinga, St Francis Bay, South Africa

Friday 24 July

The earliest cow to the creek drinks clean water. A Luyana/Lozi proverb sent by Mulako Sianga, Kitwe, Zambia

Thursday 23 July

If one fish in the basket rots, they all rot. Sent by Deus Zakalia Mahlati Gondwe, Mzuzu, Malawi

Wednesday 22 July

The person whose father received a bullet in the head uses an iron pot as a helmet. An Igbo proverb sent by Chukwuebuka Bigseed Okafor, Awka, Nigeria

Tuesday 21 July

The family's oil is not for rubbing into the skin of strangers. A Kikuyu proverb sent by Paul Mbugua, Nairobi, Kenya

Monday 20 July

A frog does not jump backwards. Sent by Sunday Nyeleti, Lusaka, Zambia, and Idua Olunwa, Dallas, US

Friday 17 July

No matter how skilfully the chick dances, it will never please the hawk. Sent by Nyaku Selom & Julian Dzikunu from Ghana, and Albert Damptey-Boakye, Norway

Thursday 16 July

The skin of the leopard is beautiful, but not its heart. A Baluba proverb sent by Sydney K Mmanga, Blantyre, Malawi

Wednesday 15 July

Ears are beggars; they gather all they get hold of. A Bemba proverb sent by Kalunga Yoshua, Zambia

Tuesday 14 July

You do not look for a person wearing white cloth where the palm-oil maker works. A Yoruba proverb sent by Mohammed Hammed Olanrewaju, Abeokuta, Nigeria

Monday 13 July

Where a horse is absent, a donkey appears. An Oromo proverb sent by Chala Dejenu, Finfine, Oromia, Ethiopia

Friday 10 July

If you carry a hyena on your back, dogs will bark at you. A Wolof proverb sent by Pa Sallah Drammeh, Banjul, The Gambia

Thursday 9 July

An ox hide must be folded to a shape one wants while it is still fresh. An Ndebele proverb from Zimbabwe sent by Thoman Sikowelo, Johannesburg, South Africa

Wednesday 8 July

Mine is different from ours. An Igala proverb sent by Sani Adamu, Jos, Nigeria, and Christy Etim Esin, Atlanta, US

Tuesday 7 July

It's preferable to fight with a friend than to cheat him. An Oromo proverb sent by Berhanmeskel, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Monday 6 July

Good news is the ears' favourite dish. An Ewe proverb sent by James Agblevor, Accra, Ghana

Tuesday 30 June

Do not fight for a guinea fowl that has been caught in someone else's net. An Acholi proverb sent by Martin Okwir, Lira, Uganda

Monday 29 June

The stomach that contains truth cannot be pierced even with a knife. A Hausa proverb sent by Kyomson, Prague, The Czech Republic

Friday 26 June

One frog can ruin everyone's water. A Luo proverb sent by Ronald Ogwal, Uganda

Thursday 25 June

Unexpected rainfall allows goats and sheep to seek shelter under the same roof. Sent by Henson King, Monrovia, Liberia

Wednesday 24 June

Twenty friends will not continue hanging out for 20 years. A Yoruba proverb sent by Wale Adejuyigbe, Kent, The UK

Tuesday 23 June

A man's beauty is judged by the number of cows he owns. A Zulu proverb sent by Bruce Sithole, Durban, South Africa

Monday 22 June

Rushing is not the best way to start a fire. A Ugandan proverb sent by Ken, London, The UK

Friday 19 June

Do not compete with an elephant when it comes to passing stools. A Swahili proverb sent by Roland Ebole, Nairobi, Kenya

Thursday 18 June

The fork on the road made the hyena miss the party. A Lango proverb sent by Patrick Odongo, Kitgum, Uganda

Wednesday 17 June

He who burnt in a fire always fears ashes. A Somali proverb sent by Young Mohadish Salad, Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Tuesday 16 June

One does not count the fingers of nine-fingered person in his or her presence. A Yoruba proverb sent by Abimbola Oladiran, Jos, Nigeria

Monday 15 June

You should not sleep outside just because someone else did it and was lucky. A Tonga proverb sent by Peter Mulekwa Gotola, Lusaka, Zambia

Friday 12 June

When they wish to eat a vulture, they call it a guinea fowl. An Ethiopian proverb sent by Yibekal Abebe Tessema, Zurich, Swizerland

Thursday 11 June

If you see someone who is afraid of being identified, he is guilty of something. A Hausa proverb sent by Safynaz Isabelle Cisse, London, The UK

Wednesday 10 June

A wise visitor leaves firewood behind. A Tonga proverb sent by Moses, Choma, Zambia

Tuesday 9 June

The forest yields when you are tired. A Shona proverb sent by Kudzai Makomva, Harare, Zimbabwe

Monday 8 June

A single palm kernel does not get lost in the fire. An Igbo proverb from Nigeria sent by Obi Ozonzeadi, London, The UK

Friday 5 June

A horse may take you to the battlefield, but it will not fight for you. An Amharic proverb from Ethiopia sent by Abebe Mekuria, Woodbridge, Canada

Thursday 4 June

A dish which is going to be tasty will smell good when it boils. A Wolof proverb sent by Coura Fall, Dakar, Senegal

Wednesday 3 June

Someone who talks about a wound talks about a wound that he has had before. A Tonga proverb sent by Peter Mulekwa Gotola, Lusaka, Zambia

Tuesday 2 June

Bad counsel may cause you to fall into an abyss. A Somali proverb sent by Abshir Fire Cadde, Nelspruit, South Africa

Monday 1 June

When a mother elephant blows its trumpet, the baby elephant stays quiet. A Yoruba proverb from Nigeria sent by Collins Fadare, London, UK

Please use the Comments section to send us your African proverb:

If you are happy to be contacted by a BBC journalist please leave a telephone number that we can contact you on. In some cases a selection of your comments will be published, displaying your name as you provide it and location, unless you state otherwise. Your contact details will never be published. When sending us pictures, video or eyewitness accounts at no time should you endanger yourself or others, take any unnecessary risks or infringe any laws. Please ensure you have read the terms and conditions.

Terms and conditions