Communists win India's Tripura poll

Poll officials tally ballots from electronic voting machines at a counting hall in Tripura
Image caption The Communists won a landslide victory in state assembly elections in Tripura

India's Communists have returned to power for a record fifth consecutive term in the north-eastern state of Tripura.

The Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Front coalition won 50 of the 60 seats in the state assembly.

Tripura is the only state in India that is ruled by the Communists.

Their coalition has been in power for 20 years. Chief Minister Manik Sarkar has held the top post for the last 15 years.

The results of assembly elections in the north-eastern states of Meghalaya and Nagaland were also announced on Thursday.

The Naga People's Front won in Nagaland, while the Congress party retained power in Meghalaya.

More on this story