India announces state election dates

File photo of voters in India A total of 110 million voters will be eligible to cast their votes in the five states

Related Stories

Assembly elections will begin in five Indian states next month, the Election Commission of India has announced.

Voting will be held in Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram, Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath said.

Polling will be held from 11 November to 4 December. Votes will be counted on 8 December.

Correspondents say the polls will give a sense of how the electorate may vote in the general elections due in 2014.

Corruption and high inflation are expected to be major factors in these elections.

Mr Sampath said a total of 110 million voters will be eligible to cast their votes in the five states.

Voting will be held in the central state of Chhattisgarh in two phases on 11 November and 19 November.

The capital, Delhi, and the north-eastern state of Mizoram will vote on 4 November.

Madhya Pradesh in central India will go to the polls on 25 November, while the western state of Rajasthan will vote on 1 December.

More on This Story

Related Stories

More India stories


Features & Analysis

Elsewhere on the BBC

  • Older ladyAge of happiness

    A Russian photographer documents inspirational seniors who are refusing to grow old


  • Robbie RogersHARDtalk Watch

    Gay footballer Robbie Rogers on locker room homophobia and the ‘pack mentality’ in soccer

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.