Xinjiang territory profile

Map of Xinjiang territory

China's largest province Xinjiang is bordered by eight countries including the former Soviet Central Asian republics, Mongolia, Afghanistan, Pakistan and India.

The region experienced a brief period of independence in the 1940s but China regained control after the Communists took power in 1949.

It is home to the Turkic-speaking Muslim Uighur minority who make up about 8 million of the province's 19 million people.

Rich in natural resources, economic development in the region has been accompanied by large-scale immigration of Han Chinese.

Many Uighurs complain of discrimination and marginalisation by the Chinese authorities. Anti-Han and separatist sentiment has become more prevalent since the 1990s, flaring into violence on occasion.


Xinjiang-Uighur Autonomous Region

Region of China

  • Population 21.8 million

  • Area 1,660,000 sq km (640,930 sq miles)

  • Major language Chinese, Uighur

  • Major religion Islam

  • Life expectancy 71 (men), 71 (women)


Image copyright AFP
Image caption Government censors have crept across the web

Xinjiang's media are tightly controlled by the local Communist Party and government. The Urumqi People's Broadcasting Station and the Xinjiang People's Broadcasting Station run radio and television broadcasts in Chinese, Uighur and minority languages.

Major state-run newspapers include the Chinese-language Xinjiang Economic Daily.

The authorities imposed a months-long shutdown of internet access in Xinjiang following the violent unrest in July 2009. Bloggers, netizens and website managers were "singled out for repression", Reporters Without Borders said.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites