Two nominees for Guernsey chief minister election

Lyndon Trott and Jonathan Le Tocq
Image caption Deputy Trott and Deputy-Elect Le Tocq will be in the running for the position when it is voted for on 1 May

Two candidates have been nominated for the role of Guernsey's chief minister.

To qualify for the position those elected on Wednesday need to have served in the States for four of the last eight years.

Deputy-Elect Jonathan Le Tocq, who was deputy from 2000-2008, and Deputy Lyndon Trott, the current Chief Minister, have both been put forward.

Other candidates interested in the chief minister's role have until 16:00 BST on Monday to apply.

Deputy-Elect Jonathan Le Tocq was supported by 1,575 voters in the Castel district.

He was proposed by Deputy-Elect Gavin St Pier, who topped the polls in the St Sampson's district, and Deputy Mark Dorey, the current Social Security Minister.

Deputy Trott has served in the top post in the States since the last election in 2008 and is the first chief minister to stand for re-election since the post was created in 2004 and was successful after 1,370 voters supported him in the St Sampson district.

He was proposed by Deputy-Elect Roger Perrot, who topped the polls in the West district, and seconded by Deputy David Jones, who is the current Housing Minister.

The newly elected States will decide on the chief minister after they are sworn in on 1 May.

At the last election in 2008 there were six candidates for the position.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites