Sark Election 2012: Nominations open

Sark's Island Hall Voting is due to take place in the Island Hall from 10:00 GMT to 18:00 on Wednesday, 12 December

Related Stories

Nominations have opened for the election of 14 seats in Sark's Chief Pleas, the island's government.

Forms will be accepted until midday on Monday, 26 November with the election being held on Wednesday, 12 December.

There are 28 conseillers in Chief Pleas, with elections held for half of the government every two years.

It will be the third election since 2008, when Sark moved from a feudal system of government to a democratically elected one.

Those whose seats are up for election are those who have served since 2008, when lots were drawn among the successful candidates as to whether they would serve two-year or four-year terms, and those elected in a by-election in 2011.

The following people are nearing the end of their four-year terms: Paul Armorgie, Christine Audrain, Elizabeth Dewe, Richard Dewe, Antony Dunks, Helen Magell, Charles Maitland, Andrew Prevel, Paul Williams and Sandra Williams.

Up for re-election after the 2011 by-election are: Rosanne Byrne, Hazel Fry, Simon Higgins and Stephen Taylor.

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

BBC Guernsey


Guernsey Airport

7 °C 5 °C

Features & Analysis

Elsewhere on the BBC

  • KnucklesGood or bad?

    For many it can be very satisfying to 'crack' the bones in your hand, but is it bad for you?


  • BatteriesClick Watch

    More power to your phone - the lithium-ion batteries that could last twice as long

Try our new site and tell us what you think. Learn more
Take me there

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.