Isle Of Man / Ellan Vannin

Isle of Man electoral boundary review deadline approaches

Isle of Man Map
Image caption The current system is based on 15 constituencies

Members of the public have until 20 February to comment on proposals to review electoral boundaries across the Isle of Man.

The move, according to a report, could bring more political equality to the island's voting process.

A series of recommendations have been put forward for public scrutiny by the island's Boundary Review Commission.

The changes would mean an end to a system where some Manx residents get three votes, and others get just one.

The commission recommends the 24 political seats should be more equally divided into 12 different constituencies.

Under the new proposals, each of the 12 areas would be represented by two members of the House of Keys.

Community interests

The current system is based on 15 constituencies.

Rushen and Onchan have three political members, the four Douglas constituencies and Ramsey have two, while Ayre, Castletown, Garff, Glenfaba, Michael, Peel, Malew and Santon, and Middle have one.

Chairman of the Boundary Review Commission Sally Bolton said: "We are now giving people the opportunity to make suggestions.

"The [proposed] map is a working document but we would hope that it wouldn't need to be changed too much because it does take into account the interests of each community."

All responses should be submitted to the chief secretary's office.

It is hoped the committee's final report will be handed to Tynwald in June.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites