Thirteen people stand for senator in Jersey's elections

The 13 candidates for the senatorial election in Jersey
Image caption Thirteen people have been nominated to stand for senator in Jersey's elections in October

Thirteen islanders have put themselves forward for one of four senatorial seats in the States of Jersey.

The election race is now on, as senatorial candidates will be joined by constable and deputy nominations.

In a crowded Town Hall on Tuesday night, 13 people were nominated by fellow islanders to run for senator.

Nine had announced their intentions, but four were new additions to the group of candidates wanting an island-wide mandate.

The list includes three women: Advocate Rose Colley, Sylvia Lagadu and Linda Corby.

Three sitting States members have declared: Senators Freddie Cohen and Francis Le Gresley and Deputy Ian Gorst.

Jersey's former Bailiff Sir Philip Bailhache and the former Health and Social Services Minister Stuart Syvret will both put their names on the ballot.

Other candidates include Lyndon Farnham, Darius Pearce, Christopher Whitworth, David Richardson and Mark Forskitt.

If any of those candidates put themselves forward to run as a constable or deputy, their senatorial nomination will be cancelled out.

There are 61,987 people registered to vote in the election on 19 October 2011.

It will be the first time in Jersey's history that constables, deputies and senators have been elected on the same day.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites