Three Jersey politicians to run for chief minister

States of Jersey
Image caption The current chief minister, Senator Terry Le Sueur, is retiring from politics

Three Jersey politicians have confirmed they will be running for chief minister on 14 November.

They include senator-elect Sir Philip Bailhache, who topped the poll in the island's general election on 19 October, gaining a record 17,538 votes.

Senator-elect Ian Gorst, who came second and is currently social security minister will also stand.

Senator Le Marquand announced in July that he would be standing in next month's election.

Sir Philip said he wanted to run for the office of chief minister to prove he could "offer the kind of leadership the States will need".

Senator Le Marquand is currently halfway through his six-year term of office.

The chief minister is voted for by all of the Jersey States members in an open ballot.

Senator-elect Bailhache was the Bailiff of the States of Jersey, acting as chief judge and speaker, until he retired in 2009.

Current chief minister, Senator Terry Le Sueur, is retiring from Jersey politics and did not seek re-election in October.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites