South Asia

Sri Lanka appoint new captain after Dilshan resigns

Tillakaratne Dilshan
Image caption Dilshan took over the captaincy following the 2011 Cricket World Cup

Sri Lanka cricket authorities have appointed a new captain for the national cricket team following the resignation of Tillakaratne Dilshan.

The resignation comes after a series of setbacks in the field.

Mahela Jayawardene has been re-appointed as captain for all three formats of the game, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) confirmed.

The sports minister, meanwhile, says he is considering other changes in the cricket management.

Anjelo Mathews is appointed as the deputy to Jayawardene for the upcoming tour of Australia.

"Members of the executive committee take this opportunity to thank Dilshan for his commitment and dedication during his tenure as the National Captain," said a statement issued by the SLC.

Sports Minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage told the BBC's Sinhala service that other changes including the appointment of a new coach and a team manager are also being considered.

He was commenting on media reports that suggested Australian Geoff Marsh is to be replaced by Graham Ford of South Africa as the national coach and Ranjith Fernando to replace Anura Tennakoon as overall manager.

"We will make these changes known before the team's departure to Australia," he said.

The changes come as media reports speak of an impending industrial action by young cricket players due to non-payment of their salaries since Cricket World Cup co-hosted by Sri Lanka, India and Bangladesh.

But the minister says he is yet to be informed of any such action.

More on this story

Around the BBC

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites