Puerto Rico profile

Head of state: President Barack Obama

Governor: Alejandro Garcia Padilla

Alejandro Garcia Padilla narrowly beat incumbent governor Luis Fortuno in the November 2012 gubernatorial race, and was inaugurated in January.

Governor Garcia Padilla, born in 1971, is a lawyer by training. His Popular Democratic Party is affiliated with the US Democratic Party.

He served briefly as consumer affairs secretary during the Popular Democratic governorship of Anibal Acevedo Vila in 2005-2007 before securing election as a Puerto Rican senator. He served on several leading Senate committees during the governorship of Luis Fortuno of the rival New Progressive Party.

His main challenges as governor are dealing with the large budget deficit and the influx of illegal immigrants from the nearby Dominican Republic.

Puerto Ricans elect their governor for a four-year term. The constitution, modelled on that of the US, provides for a Senate and House of Representatives. However, voters in a referendum in 2005 backed the idea of replacing the bodies with a one-house legislature.

Residents of Puerto Rico cannot vote in US presidential elections, but they do elect a non-voting delegate to the US Congress.

More on This Story

More US & Canada stories


Features & Analysis

Elsewhere on the BBC

  • UnderwaterHidden depths

    How do you explore the bottom of the ocean? BBC Future finds out


  • The challenge is to drop a bottle of water within 100 metres of this dummyClick Watch

    The race to get water – transported by drone – to a man stuck in remote Australia

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.