US & Canada

US blizzard: Charting the snow depth - using six dogs

The north-east of the US has endured a succession of snowstorms. The BBC's Franz Strasser looks at the historical numbers - and uses an unconventional measure to chart how deep the snow is in Boston.

Snow depth in Boston 10 Feb 14:00 GMT (09:00 EST)


Snow depth in Boston 27 Jan 22:00 GMT (17:00 EST)

Snow depth in Boston 18:00 GMT (13:00 EST)

Snow depth in Boston 14:00 GMT (09:00 EST)

Snow depth in Boston at 08:00 GMT Tuesday (03:00 EST)

Snow depth in Boston 22:00 GMT Monday (17:00 EST)


Image caption If forecasts are correct, this storm could dump the most snow ever on Boston

Image caption Less snow is expected in New York but it could still challenge the record