Sam Allardyce charged over comments after West Ham loss

West Ham manager Sam Allardyce has been charged with misconduct over his comments to the media after Wednesday's FA Cup tie at Manchester United.

Allardyce said the decision to deny his side a penalty at Old Trafford, but award one to Sir Alex Ferguson's side, was down to home advantage.

Wayne Rooney missed the second-half spot-kick as the Hammers lost 1-0 in the third-round replay.

Allardyce must respond to the Football Association charge by 23 January.

West Ham were denied a penalty when the ball struck Rafael's arm, before the hosts were awarded one when Jordan Spence handled late on.

"You see it time and time again at Old Trafford," Allardyce said at full-time.

"There's no doubt about the difference between Rafael's handball and Jordan Spence's. Spence plays for West Ham and the away team, while Rafael plays for the home side at Old Trafford."

An FA statement said the charge is "in relation to an alleged breach of FA Rule E3".

It concerns "media comments which questioned the integrity of the match referee and/or match officials in general and/or implied that the match referee and/or match officials in general are motivated by bias and/or brought the game into disrepute".