Cricket World Cup 2015: James Taylor denied ton by umpire error

James Taylor & Australia players
James Taylor was on 98 when last man James Anderson was given out

James Taylor was denied a World Cup century by an umpiring error that brought England's 111-run defeat by Australia to a premature end.

Taylor was left stranded on 98 when last man James Anderson was run out.

However, Taylor had successfully reviewed umpire Aleem Dar's lbw decision from the same delivery, meaning the ball should have been dead.

In a statement, the International Cricket Council (ICC) acknowledged that an error had been made.

Although harsh on Taylor, who has never made an international hundred, the decision was incidental to the result of the match, given England's hopeless position at the time.

The tourists were 231-9 in the 42nd over in reply to Australia's imposing 342-9 when the mistake took place.

While Australia's players celebrated, Taylor remonstrated with the umpires, but to no avail.

An ICC statement said: "The Playing Control Team spoke to the England team management and acknowledges that the game ended incorrectly and an error was made."

Top Stories