Brendon McCullum finishes ODI career with win over Australia

Brendon McCullum (left) and Sir Richard Hadlee
McCullum finished his career with 6083 runs in 260 ODIs
Third one-day international, Hamilton:
New Zealand 246 (45.3 overs): Guptill 50, B McCullum 47, M Marsh 3-34
Australia 191 (43.4 overs): Khawaja 44, M Marsh 41, Henry 3-60
New Zealand won by 55 runs
Scorecard

New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum ended his one-day international career with a 55-run win over Australia which gave the Kiwis a 2-1 series victory.

McCullum, who will retire from all cricket after the Test series against the same opponents this month, scored 47 from 27 balls in his side's 246.

Australia regularly lost wickets and were bowled out for 191.

"I feel incredibly lucky to play for 14 years, meet some great blokes and make some great friends," said McCullum, 34.

"Not many people get that opportunity and I want to thank everyone for supporting me and supporting this team over a long period of time.

"The memories will hold for the rest of my life."

Brendon McCullum is given a guard of honour by Australia on his way to the wicket for his final ODI innings
McCullum was given a guard of honour by Australia on his way to the wicket for his final ODI innings

McCullum hit three sixes and six fours as he finished his ODI career with 6,083 runs, which included five centuries and a highest score of 166.

He played 228 innings in 260 ODI's, with an average of 30.41 and a strike rate of 96.37.

McCullum also led New Zealand to their first World Cup final in 2015, where the Kiwis lost to Australia.

His final match was not without its share of controversy.

Australia all-rounder Mitchell Marsh took 3-34 during New Zealand's innings and had reached 41 with the bat when he hit a delivery back to bowler Matt Henry.

The bowler's appeal for a caught and bowled was turned down but a replay was shown on the big screen, during which the crowd reacted noisily after the ball appeared to hit the batsman's boot before looping up to the bowler.

Umpires Ian Gould and Derek Walker then asked third umpire Sundaram Ravi to review the incident and Marsh was subsequently given out.

"A bit of controversy there, I don't think there was much of an appeal," said Australia skipper Steve Smith. "And they went upstairs after the replay, a bit disappointing.

"The right decision was made no doubt about that. I don't want to take anything away from the Black Caps, they deserved to win."

Top Stories